Dostoevsky Bicentenary Events

In 2021, Dostoevsky turns 200. In 2021-22 the North American Dostoevsky Society is co-sponsoring a series of events to mark Dostoevsky’s bicentenary.

We are also sponsoring a blog series on “Global Dostoevskys.” See the open call for guest bloggers here.

All events will be held online, are free, and are open to the public (with registration).

Details are below and will be updated as they are confirmed.


Weds, Sept 22, 2021 – 12pm EDT

Public Roundtable: Dostoevsky at 200: The Novel in Modernity

Event Page | Link to Video Recording


Weds, Oct 20, 2021 – 12pm EDT

Public Talk: Dr Chloë Kitzinger (Rutgers), “The Lives of Characters in Dostoevsky and Tolstoy” – hosted by the University of Toronto

Link for Registration | Part of the NADS Bicentenary Speaker Series


Thurs, Oct 28, 2021 – 12pm EDT (5pm BST)

Panel: Graduate Research on Dostoevsky at 200

Event Details | Link for Registration


Thurs, Nov 11, 2021 – 7pm EST

Virtual Birthday Party!

Call for Creative Projects [Deadline: Oct 25, 2021]


Mon, Nov 29, 2021 – 5pm GMT (12pm EST)

Public Roundtable: Dostoevsky, Russia and Nationalism in the Global Era

Details coming soon


Thurs, Dec 9, 2021 – 6pm GMT (1pm EST)

Public Talk: Dr Kate Holland (U of Toronto), “Temporality in Dostoevsky’s Imperial Imagination” hosted by the University of Bristol

To register and receive the Zoom link, email connor[dot]doak[at]bristol[dot]ac[dot]uk | Part of the NADS Bicentenary Speaker Series


Fri, Jan 28, 2022 – time TBD

Undergraduate Research Panel

Call for Papers [Deadline: Dec 15]


Thank you to organizers Dr Katherine Bowers, Dr Kate Holland, Dr Sarah Hudspith, Dr Katya Jordan, and Dr Sarah J. Young.

Thank you also to our sponsors without whose support these events would not be possible: